Home / Buckeye People / Farmers help Ohio students earn scholarships

Farmers help Ohio students earn scholarships

With the help of local farmers, 22 Ohio students have been awarded scholarships from the America’s Farmers Grow Ag Leaders program, sponsored by the Monsanto Fund. The program, established in 2014, seeks to raise awareness of the job prospects in agriculture and provides scholarships to students pursuing studies in ag-related fields.

While agriculture has become one of the most promising sectors for job growth — 57,900 high-skilled jobs are created annually in food, agriculture, renewable natural resources and environmental fields in the United States, according to the USDA — a recent survey, sponsored by America’s Farmers Grow Ag Leaders, found that fewer than one in five students surveyed feel they understand the diverse array of career opportunities in the agriculture field. The Grow Ag Leaders program aims to change that by awarding deserving students with scholarships to pursue an education in any ag-related field of study, including agronomy, education, engineering and many others.

“Agriculture has become a hot sector for job growth in the United States, but few high school and college students understand what incredible job opportunities exist in the agriculture field,” said Al Mitchell, Monsanto Fund president. “With the America’s Farmers Grow Ag Leaders program, we’re helping future agriculture leaders understand those opportunities, and we’re providing them the means to help secure those opportunities through education.”

In Ohio, the 2017 Grow Ag Leaders scholarship recipients were:

  • Christopher Baird – Springfield
  •         Isaiah Beaver – Houston
  •         Jordan Boyer – Deshler
  •         Evan Conrad – Metamora
  •         Carley Coppler – Carey
  •         McKenzie Davis – Van Wert
  •         Cade Field – Green Camp
  •         Katie Frost – Bloomingburg
  •         Kevin Fruth – Fostoria
  •         Derek Goodman – Cardington
  •         Braden Heizer – Leesburg
  •         Amber Herman – Ottawa
  •         Sydney Hoffa – Massillon
  •         Jared Minor – Circleville
  •         Jacob Schlichter – Oxford
  •         Joseph Schmidt – Payne
  •         Trenton Schwartz – Wapakonata
  •         Luke Scott – Bucyrus
  •         Zachary Steiner – Creston
  •         Rex Tietje – Deshler
  •         Taylor Tyo – Greenville
  •         David Wise – Howard

Grow Ag Leaders scholarships, administered by the National FFA Organization, are open to students 23 and younger, who live in eligible counties and are planning to enroll or are currently enrolled in trade schools, community colleges and four-year universities. The scholarships are awarded in $1,500 increments to students pursuing an education in an ag-related field of study, including farming, agronomy, education, science, technology, business, communications and more. In order to be eligible to receive a Grow Ag Leaders scholarship, students had to be nominated by a farmer in their state.

Since the program began in 2014, the America’s Farmers Ag Leaders program has awarded nearly $1.7 million in scholarships to promising students pursuing their education in agriculture.

For more information about the America’s Farmers Grow Ag Leaders program or to view a complete list of winners, visitwww.GrowAgLeaders.com. Additional information can be found at facebook.com/AmericasFarmers.

Check Also

Late-season weather impacts corn and soybean growth and development

By Kyle Poling, Pioneer Field Agronomist, Ada, Ohio Physiological maturity of a soybean seed occurs …

One comment

  1. There are some interesting closing dates in this article however I don抰 know if I see all of them middle to heart. There’s some validity however I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Good article , thanks and we would like extra! Added to FeedBurner as well

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *