Ohio State Fair Hall of Fame inducts eight new members

Ohio State Fair Hall of Fame inducts eight new members

The Ohio State Fair inducted eight new Hall of Fame members on July 29 in the Rhodes Center Auditorium. Inductees are: Charles Cox, Columbus; Dennis Elliott, Columbus; Richard Falter, Osprey, Fla.; Opal Holfinger, Troy; Richard Indoe, Lodi; David Madison, Bexley; Jeff Milgrom, Columbus; and Rose Stough, Galion.

Charles Cox has been involved with the Ohio State Fair for approximately 50 years as a concessionaire. Beginning with the operation of ice cream concessions during the fair, Cox’s involvement has grown to provide year-round concessions and catering services at the Ohio Expo Center through Concessions by Cox, Inc.

Dennis Elliott has supported 4-H youth development for more than 50 years in the state of Ohio. He is a tireless supporter of fairs and 4-H. A past president and an active member of the State Fair 50 Year Club, Elliott contributes his time and financial support to Ohio State Fair 4-H and Junior Fair activities.

Richard Falter has dedicated more than 30 years of service to the Ohio State Fair and has been actively involved in the beef cattle and sheep aspects. As a cattle buyer for the beef packing industry, Falter was uniquely qualified to be one of the judges for the commercial cattle show.

Opal Holfinger has been supporting the fair for 10 years. She was an active commissioner from 1999 through 2008 and served as chair of the Commission in 2006 and 2007. In addition to her participation on the Commission, she is active in the Ohio Cattlewomen’s Association. During the Fair, she volunteers and works in the Cattlewomen’s store.

Richard Indoe has been a part of the Ohio State Fair for 59 years. Dick has been exhibiting dairy animals since 1950. A 2007 Distinguished Service Award Recipient of the Ohio Holstein Association, Indoe has also served as president of the Ohio Holstein Association, National Holstein Association director and as a fair board member of the Medina County Fair.

David Madison has given 18 years of active service to the Ohio State Fair. A commissioner from 1992 through 2009, he served as chair of the Commission from 2004 through 2005. In addition, Madison served as the mayor of Bexley. He has also been an advocate for youth development and educational programs.

Jeff Milgrom has partnered with the Ohio State Fair for 26 years. Through his position at Event Marketing Strategies, he has used his creativity to develop new and innovative sponsorship ideas and programs. Milgrom has provided consistency by making sure the Ohio State Fair Corporate Sponsorship Program maintains the highest level of quality and integrity. In addition to his professional relationship to the Ohio State Fair, he is a continuous supporter of youth programs such as 4-H, the Ohio State Fair Spelling Bee and youth livestock auctions.

Rose Stough has been an exhibitor, supporter and employee of the Ohio State Fair for more than 50 years. As an exhibitor, she has shown poultry, vegetables and flowers. Stough has worked in the poultry department for more than 20 years and is the “Poultry Ambassador” to fairgoers.

The Ohio State Fair Hall of Fame was created in 1976 to recognize individuals who have contributed their time and dedicated their passion to the Ohio State Fair, making it an annual success and a premier exposition. For more information, call 1-888-OHO-EXPO or 1-614-644-FAIR.

New inductees into the Ohio State Fair Hall of Fame are, standing from the left: Dennis Elliott, Columbus; Richard Falter, Osprey, Fla., represented by his son Doug; Jeff Milgrom, Columbus; David Madison, Bexley; Richard Indoe, Lodi; and Charles Cox, Columbus. Seated are Opal Holfinger, Troy, and Rose Stough, Galion. The inductions were made July 29 during a ceremony at the Ohio State Fair.

Check Also

Ohio Pork Council Pork Act Notification

Public Notice by the Ohio Pork Council and the National Pork Board: the election of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *