Ohio Cattlemen’s Association Awards Banquet highlights

More than 300 beef producers gathered at the Columbus Marriott Northwest in Dublin, Ohio, on January 22, 2011, for the annual meeting and awards banquet of the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA). The annual event featured policy development sessions, OCA’s annual meeting and the OCA’s awards banquet.
Ohio Department of Agriculture Director Jim Zehringer opened the meeting and shared his plans for the future of the department. He is looking forward to chairing the Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board and hopes to have a lot of the committee work completed by March 1. He also shared that although Ohio agriculture is facing challenges of weather, land prices, animal rights and environmental issues; the future still looks bright for the industry.
Kristina Harris Butts, NCBA Executive Director of Legislative Affairs, gave an update on NCBA activities as well as discussed many of the issues NCBA is working on for the beef industry. Butts’ top policy areas included: GIPSA, food safety, antibiotic legislation, estate taxes, nutrition, trade, the upcoming 2012 farm bill and animal welfare.
OCA’s membership committee reported that 2010 was a record setting membership year for the third year in a row and membership renewals for 2011 are on track with previous years. The Beef Improvement Committee gave an update on the Seedstock Improvement Sales and the Ohio Beef Expo.
OCA Board Member Bev Roe, of Butler County, coordinated the policy development portion of the OCA Annual Meeting. These resolutions covered such topics as grazing land conservation, large animal veterinarians, trade promotion authority, beef quality assurance training, federal and state checkoffs, and state national two-hat structures.
OCA’s Membership Committee also recognized the members of OCA’s Top Hand Recruiting Club. Land O’Lakes Feed and Quality Liquid Feed sponsored the awards.
OCA members and guests reconvened that evening for the banquet to celebrate another successful year and to recognize the Ohio beef industry’s best and brightest.
An early highlight of the banquet included the crowning of 2011 Ohio Beef Queen Kaitlyn Hinds of Tuscarawas County. Rounding out Hinds’ court will be first runner-up Kelsey Sheeley, Highland County, and second runner-up Kirsten Wise, Portage County.
Fifteen scholarships were presented to outstanding youth during the awards banquet. Steve R. Rauch Benchmark of Excellence scholarship recipients included: Bailey Harsh, Delaware County; Krystin Bachman, Fairfield County; and Catherine Shaw, Fairfield County. Jacob Bonham, Fayette County; Colton Kreager, Licking County; Lydia Ulry, Licking County; and Emily Warnimont, Hancock County; were awarded $1,000 Tagged for Greatness Scholarships, which are funded with the sales of the Ohio Beef license plate. Lindsey Grimes, Highland County; Kayla Hinds, Tuscarawas County; Jacob Ruffing, Seneca County; received a $1,000 Country Club Scholarship, which was funded by the putt putt course at the 2010 Ohio State Fair. The Ohio CattleWomen’s Association awarded scholarships to Krystin Bachman, Fairfield County; Heather Bradford, Auglaize County; Emily Brinkman, Henry County; Megan Greenawalt, Highland County; and Zane Wildermuth, Shelby County.
OCA also recognized county associations that incorporate new or creative activities to build stronger relationships with the state group, to promote beef or to emphasize community involvement. Highland County was announced as the outstanding county affiliate for the third year in a row and received a $500 award. Stark County was announced as the second place outstanding county affiliate and received a $300 award while Fairfield County was the winner of the third place outstanding affiliate award and received $200. In addition, the Vinton County Cattlemen’s Association was recognized as OCA’s Up and Coming Award Winner and the Carroll County Cattlemen’s Association received OCA’s helping hand award.
The highlight of the banquet began with the final five awards of the evening.

Janet Butler, Union Stock Yards, Hillsboro, received the Industry Excellence Award at the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) Awards Banquet, Jan. 22 in Columbus. Butler is pictured with David Felumlee, OCA president.
Henry Zerby (right), Ohio State University meat scientist, received the Industry Service Award during the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) Awards Banquet, Jan. 22 in Columbus. Zerby is pictured with Kyle Sharp, award sponsor, Ohio’s Country Journal.
Patrick Saunders (left), Gallipolis, was named the Young Cattleman of the Year at the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) Awards Banquet, Jan. 22 in Columbus. Saunders is pictured with Tim White, award sponsor, Ohio Farmer Magazine.
NS Polled Herefords, Warren County, was named the Seedstock Producer of the Year at the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) Awards Banquet, Jan. 22 in Columbus. Norm Star is the farm owner, and Gene Steiner is the manager. Pictured, from the left, are: Allie, Gene and Kym Steiner; Norm Star; and Dave Blower, award sponsor, Farm World.
John McKarns, Carroll County, was named the Commercial Cattleman of the Year at the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) Awards Banquet, Jan. 22 in Columbus. McKarns is pictured with OCA Board Member Bev Roe, Butler County.
Kaitlyn Hinds (left), Tuscarawas County, was named the 2011 Ohio Beef Queen at the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association (OCA) Awards Banquet, Jan. 22 in Columbus. Hinds is pictured with the 2010 queen, Jacquelyn Keller, Fairfield County.

Check Also

Miami East-MVCTC FFA competes in Regional FFA Evaluations

The Miami East-MVCTC FFA Chapter recently competed in the District 5 Evaluations of the Ohio …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *