OSCF announces scholarship winners

The Ohio Soybean Council Foundation (OSCF) is pleased to announce the scholarship recipients of the OSCF Scholarship Program for the 2011-2012 academic year. Undergraduate scholarships of $3,000 each will be awarded to Dustin Homan, Andrew Klopfenstein, Rhiannon Schneider and Brent Stammen.  The first annual $3,000 Farmer, Lumpe + McClelland (FLM) Scholarship was awarded to Emily Krueger, and the annual $5,000 Bhima Vijayendran Scholarship was awarded to Rachel Yoho.  Graduate scholarships of $5,000 were awarded to Sasiwimon Buddhiranon and Andika Gunadi.

This is the fourth year for the OSCF Scholarship Program, which was created to encourage undergraduate students to pursue careers in agriculture, as well as to support ongoing graduate-level research.  All OSCF scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to full-time students enrolled at an Ohio college or university.

“There were many scholarship applicants this year and they were all very impressive students to make it a tough competition,” said Tom Fontana, OSCF director of programs and development. “We are very pleased with the winners who represent a wide variety of academic disciplines and universities.”

Dustin Homan of Botkins, Ohio, is majoring in agricultural education at The Ohio State University (OSU) and will be a senior in the fall of 2011.  He is a senator for the Undergraduate Student Government, College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) ambassador, and he serves on the CFAES Council. Homan also serves on the Scarlet and Gray Ag Day Committee, and is the Agricultural Education Society’s Farm Science Review chair.  He is employed as a student assistant at the Ohio Bioproducts Innovation Center. Homan plans to pursue a career in agricultural education at the collegiate level or as an educational specialist in the private sector.

Andrew Klopfenstein of Haviland, Ohio, is majoring in agricultural engineering at OSU and will be a senior in the fall of 2011.  He is active in OSU’s Quarter Scale Tractor Trouble Design Team, American Society of Biological Engineers, CFAES council treasurer, and is a member and house steward of Delta Theta Sigma. Klopfenstein plans to pursue a career that enables him to work with farmers to offer the best solutions in farm equipment for better yields and greater profitability.

Rhiannon Schneider of Grafton, Ohio, is majoring in crop sciences at OSU and will be a senior in the fall of 2011.  She was active in the Agronomy Club and Phi Theta Kappa at OSU Agricultural Technical Institute (ATI).  She has worked at the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center (OARDC) in the tomato labs and is now working on soybean research.  Schneider plans to pursue a career in crop genetics to improve the quality of farmers’ yields.

Brent Stammen of Rossburg, Ohio, is majoring in agricultural communications at OSU ATI and will be a sophomore in the fall of 2011.  Stammen was very active in the FFA and has participated in many volunteer activities with his church.  He also works at the OSU ATI housing office.  Brent is pursuing a career in agricultural communications to promote Ohio farmers and their role in Ohio’s economy.

Emily Krueger of West Salem, Ohio, is majoring in agricultural communications at OSU and will be a senior in the fall of 2011. Kruger was awarded the first annual Farmer, Lumpe + McClelland Scholarship, which was created to recognize one outstanding student of agricultural business or communication.  Krueger is a junior presenter for YourNextSpeaker and is the 2010 winner of the American Farm Bureau Federation national speech contest. She is also active in Agricultural Communicators of Tomorrow and Collegiate Young Farmers. Krueger plans to pursue a career in agricultural communications that will allow her to educate consumers about the advances of agriculture.

Rachel Yoho of Sunbury, Ohio, is majoring in biology at Capital University and will be a senior in the fall of 2011. This is the second year in a row that Yoho has been awarded the annual Bhima Vijayendran Scholarship, named in honor of a Battelle researcher who has made tremendous contributions to the bioproducts industry.  Yoho is active in Beta Beta Beta, National Biological Honor Society, Phi Sigma Iota National Foreign Language Honor Society and Alpha Chi National Collegiate Honor Society. She has worked as an undergraduate summer researcher with the MassCrest Collaborative Undergraduate Research in Energy and has done work with new technologies of fuel cells using swine manure. Yoho plans to use her degree to continue research on environmental and sustainable energy.

Sasiwimon Buddhiranon of Akron, Ohio, is a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Akron in polymer engineering with concentration in phase behavior and miscibility of polymers.  She is a lecturer at Kasetsart University in Thailand where she teaches polymer processing. She is also a teaching assistant at King Mongkut’s University of Technology Thonburi and is the recipient of the Outstanding Student Award from the University of Akron. Buddhironon’s current research offers opportunity to expand the use of biodegradable polymers.

Andika Gunadi of Wooster, Ohio, is pursuing a Master of Science degree at OSU-OARDC in plant pathology.  He has worked on several soybean research projects, and is a member of the American Phytopathological Society and Plant Pathology Graduate Students Association.  He is the recipient of the Dean of Undergraduate Research Fund from the College of Biological Sciences at OSU.  Gunadi’s research is focused on marker-assisted breeding and the development of improved soybean cultivars that incorporate additional Rps genes.

“It was a pleasure to be a part of the scholarship selection committee and have the opportunity to meet such impressive students,” said David Black, Ohio Soybean Council board member and OSCF scholarship selection committee member. “We are very proud of the scholarship recipients who will undoubtedly contribute to a successful future for the Ohio soybean industry and Ohio agriculture.”

Check Also

Last Chance: Act Now to Update PLC Yields

By Clint Schroeder, Ohio State University Extension Educator Landowners or producers with a Power of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *