Nominate your favorite CCA for the CCA of the Year Award

By Tina Lust, Channel Seed Company, Marion, Ohio and Traci Bultemeier, Pioneer Hi-Bred, Ft. Wayne, IN

What is the CCA of the Year Award?

The Certified Crop Advisor of the Year Award is designed to recognize an outstanding individual in Ohio who is currently a practicing CCA in the field of agriculture.  The award will be presented on March 6, 2012 at the Ada Conservation Tillage Conference (CTC).  Nominations for the award are now being accepted from growers like you!

What is required of a CCA?

A certified crop advisor is required to pass an exam at the state and national level, acquire experience based on years of education they have received,  have a satisfactory referral from a client and employer, and agree to follow the code of ethics.  After becoming certified, CCA’s are required to complete continuing education credits by attending meetings, completing self-reported activities or on-line training courses to obtain 40 credits in a two-year cycle.

How do CCA’s benefit farmers?

A certified crop advisor has pledged to make the best recommendations for farmers, while being ethical and environmentally-sound.  CCA’s have the tools and background to provide the best customer service possible.  Part of being a talented individual is being knowledgeable about agriculture, skilled, and having integrity.  Farmers have indicated they want to work with people who are honest, technically competent, and follow through.

The certification program helps establish standards for the profession that can be used to evaluate the abilities of individuals to perform in their field.  Also, by having requirements to attend training sessions and meetings, CCA’s have a strong current knowledge of topics that are of concern and importance to farmers; they are up-to-date on potential problems and solutions.

Who can nominate a CCA of the Year?

If you know of a current outstanding CCA who is advising you on your farm, you can nominate them to be a CCA of the Year for 2012.  Perhaps they have went above and beyond to help you on your farm.  Perhaps they have significantly boosted your bottom line by the recommendations they have prescribed for your acres.  They exhibit honesty, integrity, and superb follow-through.  The CCA of the Year Award Committee is looking for these kinds of individuals. Contact Tina Lust at 740-225-5519, or Traci Bultemeier at 260-414-3206, for more information.

Past Winners of the Certified Crop Advisor of the Year Award:

Year                  Name                                    City, State                           County

2002                  Stuart Newcomer                  Seville, Ohio                           Medina

2003                  David Scheiderer                  Milford Center, Ohio                  Union

2004                  Bill Lehmkuhl                           Minster, Ohio                           Auglaize

2005                  Bill McDonald                           Derby, Ohio                           Pickaway

2006                  Roger Butts                           Hillsboro, Ohio                  Highland

2007                  William Gombash                  Berkey, Ohio                           Lucas

2008                  Jeff Howard                           Seven Mile, Ohio                  Butler

2009                  Dave Moroschan                  Tiffin, Ohio                           Seneca

Check Also

Storage added over 70 cents to bottom line this year

By Jon Scheve, Superior Feed Ingredients, LLC It looks like most corn throughout the U.S. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *