The Circleville Pumpkin Show got its start in October, 1903, when George R. Haswell, then Mayor of Circleville, and superintendent of the water works, conceived the idea of holding a small exhibit in front of his place on West Main Street. Corn fodder and pumpkins (many of them cut into Jack-O-Lanterns) formed the principal decorations, and were responsible for it being dubbed “the pumpkin show.”
On the following year Mr. Haswell was joined by some enterprising neighborhood merchants and the exhibition has grown through the years into the sixth largest festival in the United States. The show boasts an annual attendance in four days and nights of over 300,000 persons and its claim to being the “Greatest Free Show on Earth.”
The Show goes through Oct. 22.