Amanda-Clearcreek FFA culminates most successful year ever

The Amanda-Clearcreek FFA recently culminated its most successful year ever with it’s annual end-of-the year banquet. The A-C FFA Awards Banquet was held Saturday May 12th. At the awards banquet, we recognized all the CDE (Career Development Event) teams for their hard work throughout the year, but especially the state winning teams. Ten of our CDE teams placed in the top ten at state this year. Five of these teams won their respective state competitions, setting a chapter record for number of team CDE’s won in a single year. These state winning teams were recognized at the State FFA Convention. The Agricultural Communications, Environmental & Natural Resources, Wildlife Management, Outdoor Power Equipment and Agricultural Mechanics Skills CDE’s were the teams that won the state. The Agricultural Issues Forum team placed 2nd, Nature Interpretation placed 3rd, Forestry and Greenhand Quiz each placed 7th, and Aquarium Management placed 9th.

Of these teams, the chapter will represent Ohio at the National FFA Convention this fall in Agricultural Communications and Environmental & Natural Resources. It is extremely rare for a chapter to have two teams at the national level during the same year.

Also at the convention, Sierra Jepsen was recognized for being the state runner-up on the Prepared Public Speaking CDE. She now has the opportunity to go to Massachusetts this fall to represent the chapter and the state of Ohio in the regional competition at the ‘Big E’.

In the area of proficiency awards, which are based on a member’s SAE projects, the chapter had six members in the top 4 in the state. Hunter Ricketts placed 4th in the state in Wildlife Management, Sierra Jepsen placed 3rd in Beef Production, Katerina Sharp placed 3rd in Fiber and/or Oil Crop Production, Emily Cordle placed 3rd in Nursery Operations, Nate Seitz placed 2nd in Agricultural Mechanics Repair and Maintenance and Nick Brumfield was the state winner in Landscape Management. Nick’s application will be forwarded on to the national level for further review this summer. The other five members are eligible to apply again next year, so the future looks bright for them too!

The State FFA Convention also provided an opportunity for those earning their State FFA Degrees to be recognized. The State FFA Degree is the highest degree a state can bestow upon an FFA member. At State Convention, six of our chapter members received their State degrees. These members were: John Miller, Jenna Ferguson, Emily Cordle, Nick Brumfield, Allyson Davis, and Caitlin Robinson.

At the local level, the chapter recognized Susan Householder and Kayla Luft for the Star Greenhand award, Katerina Sharp was recognized for the Outstanding Sophomore award, Nick Brumfield was recognized for the Outstanding Junior award, and the Outstanding Senior award was given to Sierra Jepsen. The Dekalb Award winner was Emily Cordle, the Star Chapter Degree winner was Alex Norris and the overall top salesperson was Nate Seitz. We also recognized all of our Greenhand, Chapter, State, and American FFA degree winners. We made a special mention for all of our 4 year seniors: Makala Blackburn, Cody Brewer, Emily Cordle, Jenna Ferguson, Reba Hyme, Sierra Jepson, Ryan Kelly, Jamie Luck, John Miller, Brad Minnard, Kayla Porter, Hunter Ricketts, Caitlin Robinson, Seth Sayre, Nate Seitz, and Aundrea Wymer.

The chapter also recognized Emily Cordle, Alex Norris, Sierra Jepsen and John Miller as the newest members of the A-C CDE Hall of Fame. The qualifications to be inducted in the CDE Hall of Fame are as follows:

  1. The FFA member must win at least two different CDEs at the state level as an individual or as a member of a state winning team.
  2. The FFA member must be considered a part of the ‘Team of Record’ by the state CDE officials for all CDEs referenced in these stipulations.
  3. The FFA member must be in the top ten in two other CDEs at the state level as an individual or as a member of a team.
  4. If the FFA member is on a team that wins at the state level in the same CDE as a previous top ten finish, then that top ten finish cannot be used for #3.
  5. An FFA member who is an individual winner of a CDE at the national level or who is on a team that wins nationally is automatically inducted.
  6. A team or individual win at the regional level will be equivalent to a state win even if in the same CDE area as another counted CDE.
  7. Members will be inducted in the spring of their senior year or as a graduate.

The Amanda-Clearcreek CDE Hall of Fame was established in 2009.

All four of these members worked very hard in their four years at A-C FFA members, leading the chapter to many successes and multiple state championships.

This past year has been the most successful year our chapter has ever had. We hope to continue this success in the upcoming year.

Check Also

AgCredit awards $125,000 in grants to 14 local organizations

AgCredit, one of northern Ohio’s largest lenders for farmers, rural homeowners and agribusiness, announced that …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *