Hill, Patterson on ballot for Farm Credit nominating committee

Ten farmers have been nominated to fill five Board of Director positions at Farm Credit Mid-America, one of the largest agriculture lending cooperatives in the nation serving more than 95,000 farmers and agribusinesses throughout Indiana, Ohio, Kentucky and Tennessee. Ballots were mailed to voting members last week who have until October 12 to cast their ballots.

“One of the core values of a cooperative is customers have an equal say in decisions that impact how their association is run. Those decisions are voiced through their elected representatives underscoring the importance of participating in the election process,” said George Stebbins, chair of Farm Credit’s Board of Directors.

The board is comprised of 16 elected directors – four from each state the association serves. Two independent directors also serve on the board. Directors meet monthly to set policy and provide overall direction for the association. Board terms are four years and one position per state is up for election each year. This year, a fifth position with a two-year term, is on the ballet due to a vacancy left by Farm Credit Director Ernie Diggs of Tennessee who was elected to serve on the AgriBank Farm Credit Bank’s Board earlier this year.

On the same ballot, customers will elect members to the 2013 Farm Credit Nominating Committee. This committee is comprised of 20 members – five members from each state the association serves. Representatives of the Nominating Committee will meet next June to select candidates for the 2013 elected positions.

On the ballot in Ohio for 4-year term:

Lowell Hill of DeGraff
Lowell is a grain farmer, where he is owner of Lowell Hill Farm. He received a degree in Agriculture Education from the Ohio State University. Lowell is currently a 41 year employee of Thomas & Marker Construction where he is General Superintendent. Lowell is a member of the Ohio Farm Bureau, Ohio Soybean Association and the American Soybean Association.  He currently serves on the Bellefontaine Farm Credit Advisory Committee.

Bill Patterson of Chesterland
Bill owns and operates Patterson Farms, PFF, Inc. and Orchard Hills Inc. He received a degree in Agriculture Economics from the Ohio State University. Bill is a Trustee for the Ohio Farm Bureau and member of Ohio Produce Growers Marketing Association.  He is the board incumbent and has served in the capacity since 2004.

Check Also

Historic 93rd National FFA Convention & Expo wraps for the year

The 93rd National FFA Convention & Expo may have been held virtually this year, but …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *