FFA names prestigious American Star Award recipients

California, Georgia, Illinois and Oklahoma FFA members win $4,000 award

Amid celebration of 3,247 FFA members earning their American FFA Degrees after demonstrating the highest level of commitment to FFA and making significant accomplishments in their supervised agricultural experiences, four FFA members were named best of the best.

The National FFA Organization announced the four winners of the prestigious American Star Awards Saturday morning at Indianapolis’ Lucas Oil Stadium. The four FFA members learned of their new high honor during the eighth general session of the 85th National FFA Convention & Expo, each winning over three other national finalists in the four American Star Awards categories: American Star Farmer, American Star in Agribusiness, American Star in Agricultural Placement and American Star in Agriscience.

American Star Farmer: Clayton Carley – Cissna Park FFA Chapter – Illinois

(Read the full individual release here: http://bit.ly/PyxiV0)

American Star in Agribusiness: Bradley Weaver – Dawson County FFA Chapter – Georgia

(Read the full individual release here: http://bit.ly/PbMB4F)

American Star in Agricultural Placement: Kurt Parsons – Porterville FFA Chapter – California

(Read the full individual release here: http://bit.ly/TmMUu4)

American Star in Agriscience: Taylor Runyan – Atoka FFA Chapter – Oklahoma

(Read the full individual release here: http://bit.ly/SL92eX)

The American Star Awards honor FFA members who have developed the organization’s most outstanding agricultural skills and competencies through their supervised agricultural experience; demonstrated outstanding management skills; and earned the American FFA Degree – the organization’s highest level of accomplishment. Eligible FFA members must also have met other agricultural education, scholastic and leadership requirements. A panel of judges who ultimately name the top candidate in each area interviews each finalist.

Each winner of the four categories receives a total reward of $4,000 while the 12 national finalists in each division receive a $2,000 reward.

The American FFA Degree recognition programs, like the American Star Awards, are made possible through co-sponsorship from Alltech, Inc., Case IH, Farm Credit, Pioneer (a DuPont company) and Syngenta as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. Individuals who make personal contributions through the National FFA Foundation Executive Sponsor program sponsor the American Star Awards nationally.

Check Also

Between the Rows Update – Aug. 8, 2022

Matt Reese talked with Kurt Wyler, Coshocton County, and Nathan Birkemeier, Putnam County, for this …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.