Sub-District Parliamentary Procedures Contest Held

Varsity front row: Sarah Pyers, Colin Hawes, Kolin Bendickson, Emily Johnson; back row: Lauren Williams, Kendra Beckman, Rebekah Eidemiller, Corrine Melvin

By Rebekah Eidemiller, chapter reporter

Recently members of the Miami East FFA Chapter recently participated in the 2012 FFA Sub-District Parliamentary Procedure contest at Fairlawn High School. Other schools competing were Anna, Botkins, Ft. Loramie, and Fairlawn.

Participating was Greenhand 1st period were team members Chair Haley Etherington, Vice Chair Haleigh Maggert, Madeline Davis, Kayden Gustin, Bradley Jenkins, Stephanie Millhouse, Dylan Moore, Kristin Palser, and Hannah Wilson. They competed in Greenhand Room B and earned a gold rating.

Participating in Greenhand 3rd period were team members Chair Hannah Davis, Vice Chair Braxton Donaldson, Daniel Everett, Eliza Hershberger, Johnny Inman, Miranda Maggart, Sydney Oakes, Samantha Sands. They competed in Greenhand Room B and earned a gold rating.

Kayden Gustin, Dylan Moore, Bradley Jenkins, Stephanie Millhouse; back row: Kristin Palser, Madeline Davis, Haley Etherington, Haleigh Maggert, Hannah Wilson

Participating was a Greenhand 6th Period were team members were Chair Emily Beal, Vice Chair Nathan Teeters, Katrina Bendickson, Trent Church, Kelsey Kirchner, Levi Reid, Hunter Sharp, and Seth Tamplin. They competed in Greenhand Room A – Novice. They placed 3rd and earned a gold rating.

Competing in the Varsity Parliamentary Procedures competition were Chair Emily Johnson, Vice Chair Sarah Pyers, Lauren Williams, Kendra Beckman, Rebekah Eidemiller, Colin Hawes, Kolin Bendickson, and Corrine Melvin. The team placed 5th and earned a gold rating.

The students showed their knowledge of Parliamentary Procedure by holding a mock meeting and giving quality discussion on motions. Participants were given two minutes preparation time and asked to demonstrate six parliamentary procedure abilities.   They took a written test on their knowledge of parliamentary procedures.

Daniel Everett, Braxton Donaldson, Johnny Inman; back row: Samantha Sands, Miranda Maggart, Eliza Hershberger, Sydney Oakes, Hannah Davis

The Miami Valley Career Technology Center provided transportation for the contest because the Miami East Agricultural Education Department is a satellite program.

Seth Tamplin, Hunter Sharp, Nathan Teeters, Trent Church; back row: Kelsey Kirchner, Levi Reid, Emily Beal, Katrina Bendickson

Check Also

Pork donation to help fill Toledo area protein gap

When it comes to providing no- or low-cost meals to those in need in northwest …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *