Farmers may be eligible for Livestock Forage Disaster Program under new farm bill

The Livestock Forage Disaster Program (LFP) was made a permanent program with the 2014 Farm Bill legislation. Additionally the legislation provided retroactive authority to cover eligible losses dating back to October 1, 2011. This is important because this loss program provides com­pensation to eligible livestock producers who have suffered grazing losses due to drought or fire. Counties declared eligible due to the 2012 drought in Ohio include: Butler, Clinton, Darke, Defiance, Fayette, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Henry, Montgomery, Paulding, Pickaway, Preble, Putnam, Ross, Van Wert, Warren, and Williams.

Producers are eligible for drought LFP payments equal to 60% of the monthly feed cost for up to five months. Livestock species that are eligible include: beef, dairy, buffalo, sheep, goats, deer, equine, swine, elk, poultry, reindeer, alpacas, emus, and llamas. A Ross County example for a farmer with 20 mature beef cows and 26 acres of improved pasture would be eligible for 60% of one month’s feed cost. The program payment in this example would equal an estimated $621.72.  A sheep producer with 50 head of sheep and 26 acres of improved pasture would receive an estimated payment of $388.80.

Interested producers should contact their local FSA office to schedule an appointment. Sign-up to receive program payments related to the 2012 drought under this program ends January 30, 2015.

Check Also

Ohio Field Leader Roadshow | Pat Hord

Ohio Field Leader’s Dusty Sonnenberg visits with Pat Hord of Hord Family Farms near Bucyrus. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.