Miami East-MVCTC competes at State FFA Convention

Thursday and Friday, May 1 and 2, members of the Miami East-MVCTC FFA Chapter attended the Ohio FFA State Convention in Columbus. Members were recognized for various accomplishments and competed in several contests.

While in Columbus, the members the convention’s Career Show, met FFA members from across the state, and enjoyed eating out.

Motivation speakers at the convention included Professional Motivational Speakers, Harriet Turk, Cliff Cody, and Eric Chester, National FFA Southern Regional Vice President Jackson Harris, and State FFA President Maddy Buschur.

The highlight of the trip was the conferring of the State FFA Degree.  This year, Miami East High School had eight members receive such an honor. Seniors Tanner Church, Lauren Williams, Andrew Kowalak and Austin Rush and Juniors Colin Gump, Cody Reid, Grant Hodge, and Madeline Davis earned the degree. The degree requirements are based on their earned income from their Supervised Agricultural Experience program, leadership experience, and FFA and community activities.

During the National Chapter Award results the chapter was named a Top 10 Chapter, out of over 315 chapters in the state. Additionally, the chapter placed in the Top 10 in the areas of Student, Chapter and Community Development.  These results are from the chapter’s National Chapter Application. The application will now be sent to the National FFA for review and placing. Additionally, the chapter was recognized for being a Gold Medal Chapter. Members sharing informational presentations were Kendra Beckman, Kelly Rindler, Olivia Edgell, Lindsey Roeth and Kolin Bendickson.


State proficiency winners and finalists
State proficiency winners and finalists

Students were recognized for having outstanding Supervised Agricultural Experience Programs through the State Proficiency Award program. All students earned a cash prize and were recognized on stage with a plaque. Lauren Williams was named the State Winner in the area of Specialty Crop Production. Emily Johnson was named the named the State Winner in the area of Sheep Production. Nathan Teeters was the State Winner in Home and/or Community Development. Madeline Davis was named the State Winner in the area of Equine Science-Entrepreneurship. They will now have their applications forwarded to National FFA for further competition.

Additionally in proficiency awards, Tanner Church was named second in the area of Forestry Management. Katie Bendickson was named third in the area of Forestry Management. Andrew Kowalak placed third in the area of Agricultural Sales – Entrepreneurship. Emily Beal placed third in the area of Goat Production. Kayden Gustin was named second in the state in the area of Organic Agriculture. Lauren Williams placed second in the area of Agricultural Communications. In the area of Agricultural Research Integrated Systems Olivia Edgell placed fourth. Miranda Maggart placed second in the Specialty Crop Production.

Past chapter officers submitted their year’s officer books. Lauren Williams, Madeline Davis, Rebekah Eidemiller were received state recognition for completing a Gold rated Chapter Secretary’s, Treasurer’s Book and Reporter’s Book, respectfully. 


State Degree recipients
State Degree recipients

Emily Beal, Casey Copeland, and Kelsey Kirchner gave a presentation on their activities with the Food For Thought Grant with the Small Grain Marketing Group. The chapter placed fourth out of ten chapters. Kelly Rindler and Lindsey Roeth received a $1,000 grant the chapter earned from the Nutrients for Life Foundation. Olivia Edgell and Casey Copeland received a Washington Leadership Conference scholarship from the Ohio FFA Alumni.

Other recognition for the Miami East-MVCTC FFA included special recognition for the donation of monies to Children’s Hospital of Dayton and Ohio FFA Foundation silver rated sponsor and chapter trust chapter.

Members attending were Allyson Supinger, Casey Copeland, Miranda Maggart, Kendra Beckman, Lauren Williams, Madeline Davis, Emily Beal, Kelsey Kirchner, Hannah Wilson, Katie Bendickson, Lindsey Roeth, Kelly Rindler, Daniel Everett, Kayden Gustin, Hunter Sharp, Levi Reid, Daniel Bodenmiller, Andrew Kowalak, Tanner Church, Trent Church, Nathan Teeters, Alyssa Westgerdes, Riann Kingrey, Emma Linn, Olivia Edgell, Kolin Bendickson, and Emily Johnson. A special thank you to chaperones Natalie Rindler, Linda Westgerdes, Pam and Scott Willliams, Principal Todd Gentis, and Jackie Winner for their dedication and time. Several parents and special guests joined the chapter during the Convention to celebrate the accomplishments.

The Miami East Agricultural Education Department is a Satellite Program of the Miami Valley Career Technology Center.

Check Also

Chili cook-off at Miami East January FFA meeting

At the January FFA Meeting the Miami East-MVCTC FFA Chapter held its annual Chili Cook-Off …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.