Proficiency Finalists Front row: Jaime Martin, Shyann Kick, Elise Neville, Elizabeth Klein, Gabe Armstrong, Morgan Hoxworth Back row: Dustin Niehaus, Justin Lorentz, William Hughes Carter Smith

Proficiency winners, others from West Holmes FFA recognized at State Convention

On April 31st and May 1st, 2015 the West Holmes FFA attended State Convention in Columbus at the Ohio Expo center. Members attending State Convention;  Shyann Kick, Paige Miller, Elise Neville, Harlie Spurlock, Racheal Yerian, Kara Leadbetter, Jillian Gurley, Jordan Jenkins, Gabe Armstrong, Tyler Grassbaugh, Carter Smith, Thane Kaufman, Tyler Lyons, Jarret Snow, Michael Klein,  Mikey Kick, Jake Napier, Jason Jenkins, Dylan Harsh, Regina Miller, Alyx Morris, Whitney Miller, Beth Klein, Sarah Sprang, Juanita Miller, Victoria Eggers, Morgan Hoxworth, Justin Lorentz, William Hughes, Chris VanSickle, Matt Gardner, Peyton Boring, and Marris Hoffee.

On the way to state convention members stopped and toured Ohio State Athletic Facilities, members were informed of the many different grasses on the fields, how game set-up works, and  that they have. After the tour of the facilities members ate lunch at Roosters restaurant. After this the proficiency finalists went to the Proficiency Award luncheon and proficiency interviews.

They continued to the 1st session of State Convention, where Mandy Taylor and Mrs. Martin then were on stage for state officer advisor recognition. After each session members were able to tour the trade show, view the project boards for the proficiency finalists, and Ag science Fair. Members from the chapter also attended the delegate session.

The 2nd session featured Morgan Hoxworth 4th place in Veterinary Science , Justin Lorentz  1st place in Turfgrass Management, Shyann Kick 3rd place in Organic Ag, Elise Neville 3rd place in Nursery Operations and Gabe Armstrong  3rd place in Forage Production ; all for Proficiency awards. To end the first day of State convention members attended the Hotel Water Park until it was time to return to bed.

The next morning members got prepared to go to the 3rd session of State Convention. The 3rd session of State convention then had Carter Smith placing 4th in Beef Production, William Hughes 2nd place in Dairy Production Entrepreneurship, Dustin Niehaus 2nd place in Agricultural Mechanics Design and Fabrication; all for proficiency awards.  Members ate at Eddie George’s Grill afterwards.

At the fourth session our three officers that prepared officer books and received a gold rating on their books walked across the stage. Those who received a gold rating were Treasurer Terry Medley, Secretary Elise Neville, and Reporter Jason Jenkins.  Members in the convention hall were treated to a band and choir concert which showcased two West Holmes FFA members; Victoria Eggers and Regina Miller.

At the 5th session ten members received their State Degree’s; those members are Carter Smith, Tyler Grassbaugh, Jillian Gurley, Morgan Hoxworth, William Hughes, Jason Jenkins, Justin Lorentz, Elise Neville, Gabe Armstrong, and Paige Miller. In order to receive the State Degree members need to have 35 hours of community service, have the Chapter Degree, productively earned or invested $1,000, or worked 300 hours in SAE projects, demonstrate acts of leadership by performing 10 procedures of parliamentary law, give a 4-6 minute speech on an Ag topic, participated in planning of chapter events, participated in five different events above the chapter level, and have 360 hours of class time. Later the 2014-2015 state officer team was announced.

Members that were up for Proficiency awards got to walk across the stage at State Convention. The 9 proficiency placing’s are Carter Smith placing 4th in Beef Production, William Hughes 2nd place in Dairy Production Entrepreneurship, Dustin Niehaus 2nd place in Agricultural Mechanics Design and Fabrication, Morgan Hoxworth 4th place in Veterinary Science, Justin Lorentz 1st place in Turfgrass Management, Shyann Kick 3rd place in Organic Ag, Elise Neville 3rd place in Nursery Operations and Gabe Armstrong 3rd place in Forage Production. The members who worked hard to earn their placing had to put in many hours of work to be able to go through this process. These members sent an application to district evaluation in February and then were sent to state as the top four finalists in each of their areas.

Check Also

Ohio Ag Net Podcast | Ep. 353 | The Farm Bill Standstill

In this week’s podcast, hosts Matt Reese and Dusty Sonnenberg delve into the progress (or …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *