Ohio’s Shultz named Staff Director of Senate Ag Committee

U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow, Ranking Member of the U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry, today announced key changes to Committee leadership. After serving with Stabenow since 2007, Staff Director Chris Adamo is headed to the White House Council on Environmental Quality to be Chief of Staff.  Replacing Adamo as Staff Director will be Joe Shultz who has served with the Committee since 2011 as Chief Economist.

“As we move forward, I am really pleased with the professional team we have assembled,” Ranking Member Stabenow said. “Each member of my staff understands the complexity of issues facing our farmers and ranchers as well as our families and communities and are committed to their success. I am very confident that our new Staff Director, Joe Shultz, and our new Deputy Directors Jonathan Cordone and Jacqlyn Schneider will be a powerful leadership team to move us forward in addressing issues critical to farmers, families, and communities across our country.”

Shultz has served as Chief Economist for Senator Debbie Stabenow on the Agriculture Committee since 2011. In that capacity he led the Committee’s work on commodity programs, crop insurance, the federal budget, and global food security. Prior to joining the Committee, Shultz worked for U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) where he served as a primary advisor on issues related to agriculture, energy, and the environment. Shultz grew up on a fourth generation family farm in western Ohio where he continues to play an active management role. Shultz served as Vice-President of the National FFA (Future Farmers of America) and earned his bachelor’s degree in agricultural economics from Ohio State University and his master’s degree in applied economics from Cornell University.

One comment

  1. Joe, did you get my message about your beautiful dog sleeping on the road numerous times . I put him in the barn 10/12/17

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *