Chris Henney with the Ohio AgriBusiness Association

CFAES alumni recognized

The Ohio State University College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) congratulates its 2019 Alumni Awards recipients.

“It is wonderful to see so many people from our college community here to share their support for these outstanding honorees,’’ Steven Neal, CFAES associate dean and director of academic programs, told 140 alumni, relatives, faculty, staff, and friends during an awards luncheon on March 2. “We are all inspired by the accomplishments of these individuals.”

In all, 12 individuals received awards during the annual event, held on Ohio State’s Columbus campus at the Fawcett Center.

The Meritorious Service Award is given to alumni or non-alumni who have been singularly significant in CFAES’ quest for excellence. This award was presented to:

  • Bob Birkenholz, Fort Myers, Fla.
  • Virgil Strickler, Galloway, Ohio

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given to those who have brought distinction to themselves and to CFAES through their commitment and leadership. This award was presented to:

  • Bryan Garton (’93, PhD, Agricultural Education), Columbia, Mo.
  • Steve Goodwin (’73, BS, Parks, Recreation and Tourism Administration), Johnstown
  • Chris Henney (’98, BS, Agricultural Education), Columbus
  • Phil Minerich (’76, BS, Food Technology), Austin, Minn.
  • Floyd Poruban (’64, MS, ’61, BS, Plant Pathology, Horticulture), Avon
  • Kristi-Warren Scott (’03, BS, Agribusiness and Applied Economics), Washington, DC

The International Alumni Award is given to outstanding international alumni representing, supporting, and promoting CFAES and Ohio State worldwide. This award was presented to:

  • Leandro Cruppe (’15, PhD, ’11, MS, Animal Sciences), Goiania-GO, Brazil
  • Richard Edema (’01, PhD, Plant Pathology), Kampala, Uganda

The Young Professional Award recognizes young men and women for their early professional accomplishments. This award was presented to:

  • Leah Curtis (’07, BS, Agricultural Communication), Canal Winchester
  • Bo Harstine (’16, PhD, ’13, MS, Animal Sciences), Columbus

“Our alumni serve as inspirations to our students and the entire CFAES community. They improve our college, their industries, and our world through their work,” Cathann A. Kress, vice president for agricultural administration and dean of CFAES, said.

Check Also

Heritage Cooperative recognized for excellence

When it comes to stewardship, farmers, in partnership with their local ag retailers, are leading …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *