Farm Bureau committee lays groundwork for future policy votes

Twenty Ohio Farm Bureau leaders are serving on the 2019 Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Policy Development Committee. The committee collects and organizes public policy recommendations from county Farm Bureaus and presents the final policy suggestions to be voted on by Ohio Farm Bureau’s delegates during the state annual meeting in December.

In its initial session, the committee heard from government leaders, subject matter experts and Farm Bureau staff on topics such as climate change, mental health, water quality initiatives, farm leases, trade, risk management, foreign ownership in U.S. agriculture, education, school funding and rural broadband.

The policy committee consists of 10 members from Ohio Farm Bureau’s board of trustees and 10 representatives of county Farm Bureaus.

The committee is chaired by Ohio Farm Bureau First Vice President Bill Patterson of Chesterland and includes OFBF President Frank Burkett III of Massillon and Treasurer Cy Prettyman of New Bloomington. State trustees on the committee are Matt Bell of ZanesvilleMike Bensman of SidneyMike Boyert of SevilleJenny Cox of DresdenPaul Harrison of FostoriaRose Hartschuh of Sycamore and Chris Weaver of Lyons.

County Farm Bureau representatives are Glen Arnold of Putnam CountyAmanda Badger of Preble CountyVeronica Boysel of Franklin CountySteve Brunner of Pike CountyDanielle Burch of Columbiana CountyRobert Buxton of Coshocton CountyRobert Hange of Wayne CountyDale Hulit of Richland CountyGene McCurdy of Delaware County and Steven Wickersham of Marion County.

Check Also

Davidson elected to Ohio Farm Bureau board of trustees

Paul Davidson of Newark has been elected to the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation board of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *