OFBF policy development committee meets in Columbus

Twenty Ohio Farm Bureau leaders are serving on the 2019 Ohio Farm Bureau Federation Policy Development Committee. The committee collects and organizes public policy recommendations from county Farm Bureaus and presents the final policy suggestions to be voted on by Ohio Farm Bureau’s delegates during the state annual meeting in December.

In its initial session, the committee heard from government leaders, subject matter experts and Farm Bureau staff on topics such as climate change, mental health, water quality initiatives, farm leases, trade, risk management, foreign ownership in U.S. agriculture, education, school funding and rural broadband.

The policy committee consists of 10 members from Ohio Farm Bureau’s board of trustees and 10 representatives of county Farm Bureaus.

The committee is chaired by Ohio Farm Bureau First Vice President Bill Patterson of Chesterland and includes OFBF President Frank Burkett III of Massillon and Treasurer Cy Prettyman of New Bloomington. State trustees on the committee are Matt Bell of Zanesville, Mike Bensman of Sidney, Mike Boyert of Seville, Jenny Cox of Dresden, Paul Harrison of Fostoria, Rose Hartschuh of Sycamore and Chris Weaver of Lyons.

County Farm Bureau representatives are Glen Arnold of Putnam County, Amanda Badger of Preble County, Veronica Boysel of Franklin County, Steve Brunner of Pike County, Danielle Burch of Columbiana County, Robert Buxton of Coshocton County, Robert Hange of Wayne County, Dale Hulit of Richland County, Gene McCurdy of Delaware County and Steven Wickersham of Marion County.

Ohio Farm Bureau’s mission is working together for Ohio farmers to advance agriculture and strengthen our communities. Learn more at ofbf.org.

Check Also

Lake Erie walleye numbers continue to climb

By Dan Armitage, host of Buckeye Sportsman, Ohio’s longest running outdoor radio show This past summer, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *