Fort Recovery FFA Members Attend the 91st National FFA Convention

Members of the Fort Recovery FFA Chapter attended the 92nd National FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Indiana the week of October 29th to November 2nd, 2019.  Nearly 75,000 FFA members represented all 50 states, and more than 8,500 FFA Chapters were in attendance. The National FFA Convention is held annually to highlight and award member success through the FFA and agricultural education.

The Fort Recovery FFA Chapter had two students, Rick Knapke and Heather Klenke, receive the American FFA Degree; the highest degree a member can receive. To earn the degree, they needed to work more than 2,250 hours and earn or productively invest $10,000 or more in a Supervised Agricultural Experience Program.  The students joined a total of 99 that make up the prestigious group of American FFA Degree recipients in the history of the Fort Recovery FFA Chapter.

Educational tours included touring a Tyson Processing Plant, Apache Sprayer Plant, Fair Oaks Farms, and Not Just Popcorn. Students also attended The World’s Toughest Rodeo, convention sessions, and the FFA Career & Trade Show. The weeklong trip allowed students to return home with long lasting memories, experiences, and deep ties to agriculture.

The Fort Recovery FFA members who attended the convention included: Kayla Briner, Jay Brown, Claudia Jones, Kenzie Kaiser, Brooke Knapke, Cole Schmitt, Rachel Thein, Jared Timmerman, Kegan Timmerman, Paige Timmerman, Lydia Wenning, Connor Gower, Tommy Hart, Britney Klenke, Kendra Metzger, Logan Ramirez, AJ Romer, and Riley Will. Advisors Joe Hawk and Michael Gower accompanied the students on the trip.

The Fort Recovery FFA Chapter would like to send a special thanks to the school board members and administration for allowing this trip to be possible.


Check Also

Miami East-MVCTC FFA chapter recognizes Farm Safety Week

One of the most hazardous industries in the United States is agriculture. As a result, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *