101st Ohio Farm Bureau annual meeting coverage

Ohio Farm Bureau kicks off its annual meeting today in Columbus. The event’s theme is Embracing a New Century.

Nearly 700 Farm Bureau members and friends are expected to attend the meeting; all convention activities will be held at the Hilton Columbus Downtown and Greater Columbus Convention Center.

Keynote speakers include OFBF President Frank Burkett III, OFBF Executive Vice President Adam Sharp and Nationwide CEO Kirt Walker.

Awards will be presented to outstanding County Farm Bureaus, statewide Young Agricultural Professionals winners and members who have excelled in the membership campaign.

Delaware County farmer and owner of Price Farms Organics, Tom Price, is receiving the Distinguished Service Award. Former Nationwide CEO Steve Rasmussen is receiving the Ezra C. Anstaett Heritage Award and Farm Bureau’s Senior Director of Corporate Communications Joe Cornely is receiving the organization’s Agricultural Communicator Award.

Nearly 400 delegates will debate and determine the organization’s policy positions for 2020.

Follow the event on Facebook and Twitter using hashtag #OFBF2019.

Thursday, Dec. 5

Water quality efforts, transportation and infrastructure and wildlife management were among the priorities set by delegates at Ohio Farm Bureau’s 101st annual meeting. Read more

Elections took place for state board trustees and officers. Frank Burkett, Bill Patterson and Cy Prettyman were all re-elected to their respective offices.

Twenty-nine County Farm Bureaus were honored with Achievement Awards for outstanding programming that supports Ohio Farm Bureau’s strategic efforts. Those include programs to strengthen the organization and build membership, affect public policy, promote agriculture and enhance the organization’s relationship with long-standing partner Nationwide.

See the winners

Executive Vice President Adam Sharp delivered his annual address.

Wednesday, Dec. 4

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine spoke to delegates and guests at the Kickoff Lunch.

President Frank Burkett III also addressed delegates. View his address as well as the opening ceremonies, led by Mike Boyert.

News Release: Ohio Farm Bureau honors 3 for lifetime contributions to agriculture

Three young agricultural professionals are finalists in the Discussion Meet. Congratulations to David Glass from Ross County, Micah Mensing from Ottawa County and Kalyn Swihart from Allen County.


Check Also

Farm community loses Judy Loudenslager

Known by many in Ohio agriculture, Judith A. “Judy” Loudenslager, age 81, of Marion, died …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *