Ohio Farm Bureau 2020 membership campaign highlights

Thanks to the efforts of Ohio Farm Bureau volunteers and staff, the organization had an increase in its “active” membership for the 2020 campaign. Active members are farmers or other Ohioans whose jobs or livelihoods are directly impacted by the agricultural industry. As active members, they are eligible to vote on Farm Bureau policies and hold elective office in the organization.

“This has no doubt been one of the most challenging membership campaigns we have ever had and to be able to continue to grow the membership of this organization despite the unforeseen circumstances of a global pandemic is remarkable,” said Paul Lyons, Ohio Farm Bureau’s vice president of membership. “Without the strong leadership of our county membership coordinators and the commitment of their dedicated teams of volunteers, gaining active membership would have been a much tougher task.”

Over half of the state’s county Farm Bureaus received the Milestone Award for achieving a gain in farmer and agribusiness members, and 18 volunteers won the Murray Lincoln Award for signing up at least 50 new members to Ohio Farm Bureau.

“We are only as strong as our membership and adding more members to our mission tells me we are representing Ohio agriculture well,” said Adam Sharp, executive vice president of Ohio Farm Bureau. “The growth that we have seen in members who have a vested interest in agriculture gives our organization a stronger voice and a higher level of motivation to continue engaging in issues important to rural Ohioans.”

Just as the 2020 achievements are being acknowledged, the 2021 membership campaign is already underway. To find out more about becoming a member of Ohio Farm Bureau or to volunteer to help the grassroots organization continue to grow, visit ofbf.org/membership.

Check Also

Operation Evergreen again sending trees to troops

The Ohio Department of Agriculture (ODA) and Ohio Christmas Tree Association (OCTA) are partnering once …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.