The West Holmes FFA competed at the District 2 and State Evaluations

Alysa Pringle with her Reporters book. 

Seniors Ally Ogi, Leah Reining, and Ashley Tate, Juniors Garrett Houin, Sarah Irwin, Jess Miller, Pacee Miller, Alysa Pringle, Dakotah Ringwalt, and Becca Schuch were all approved for their State Degrees. In order to receive a State Degree, there are many qualifications that members have to meet. First, you have to have been in ag class for at least two years, have earned or invested $3,000 in your SAE, carry a  3.0 GPA or 93% attendance, completed 25 hours of community service, participate in 2 Career Development Events, and participate in at least 8 other school and FFA activities. They will receive their degree at the 2022 Ohio FFA State Convention.

Garrett Houin is a state finalist in Service Learning and Outdoor Rec, and 2nd in the district in Sheep Production, Pacee Miller is a state finalist in Beef Entrepreneurship. The district results are Jess Miller 2nd in Beef Entrepreneurship, Rebecca Sprang 1st in Dairy Placement, and Becca Schuch 2nd in Diversified Crop Production. 

Graduate members Jayme Pennell, Clay Shepler, Rebecca Sprang, and Addison Yates had their American Degrees passed on to the national level. In order to qualify for an American FFA Degree, these members have received their State Degree, earned or invested $10,000 in their Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE), participated in various FFA and School activities, and completed at least 50 hours of community service.

The chapter Secretary, Reporter, and Treasurer submitted their officer books to be evaluated. Secretary book submitted by Chloe Shumaker received a gold rating. Treasurers’ book submitted by Maren Drzazga received a gold rating. The Reporter’s book submitted by Alysa Pringle received a gold rating. All three books had perfect scores! They will all be recognized at the 2022 Ohio FFA State Convention in May.

Check Also

OSIA recognized distinguished services award winners

The Ohio Sheep Improvement and Ohio Sheep and Wool Program present distinguished service awards to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.