FFA News

2012-2013 Ohio State FFA Officer Team Named


President: Shelby Faulkner

Vice President: Sarah Bookman

Secretary: Craig Berning

Treasurer: Erin Wollett

Reporter: Daniel Zimmerman

Sentinel: Adam Rine

District 1 President: Clayton Parrish

District 2 President:Erica White

District 3 President: Nicole Steiner

District 4 President: Gary Klopfenstein

District 5 President: Maddy Buschur

District 6 President: Jordan Stacy

District 7 President: Leanna Bachman

District 8 President: Casey Schlauch

District 9 President: Carley Snider

District 10 President: Kayla Stalin

Continue reading

Read More »

2012 Proficiency Winners


1. Eirk Fehlan, Wellington
2. Anne McElwee, Cardington -Lincoln

Agricultural Communications

1. Maddison Buschur, Versailles
2. Jorden Price, Tri-Village-MVCTC

Agricultural Mechanics Design & Fabrication

1. Melissa Shears, Ridgewood
2. Sam Poeppelman, Marion Local

Agricultural Mechanics Repair & Mechanics- Entrepreneurship

1. Jeremy Robbine, Fayetteville

Agricultural Mechanics Repair & Mechanics- Placement

1. Cole Barry, North Union
2. Nate Seitz, Amanda-Clearcrekk

Agricultural Processing

1. Rebecca Faverty, Marlington
2. Tanner Mick, Miami Trace

Agricultural Sales-Entrepreneurship

1. Austin Wippel, Westfall
2. Marie Arnold, Smithville

Agricultural Sales-Placement

1. Kelly Fager, Wauseon
2. Rachel Mcclish, Miami Trace

Agricultural Services

1. Samantha Vermule, Delphos
2. Shane Gardner, West Holmes

AgriScience Research- Integrated Systems

1. Sarah Cox, Zane Trace
2. David Glass, Zane Trace

AgriScience Research-Plant Systems

1. Taylor Kruse, Pettisville
2. Michelle Satterfield, R.G. Drage Career Tech Center

Beef Production-Entrepreneurship
1. Jordon Mullett, River View
2. Chris Goettemoeller, Versailles

Beef Production-Placement
1. Molly Greenawalt, Lynchburg-Clay
2.… Continue reading

Read More »

2012 Honorary State Degree Honorees


The following people were recognized as Honorary Degree recipients during the second session of 2012 Ohio FFA Convention.

Edward Beeler
Mark Butler
Jamie Chenovey
Scott Elwer
Carol Endslow
Leonard Felty
Colleen Wright
Fred Colt
Dr. Williams Hains
Rober Jordan
Michael Leach
William Massey
Ron Matter
Donna Meller
Rick Raach
Dr. Todd Rappold
Richard Rhoades
John Schartman
David Snyder
Mike Sparks
Devon Stanley
Diane Zyski

 … Continue reading

Read More »

"Food for Thought" winners announced

By Joel Penhorwood, Student Reporter

On the morning of Thursday, May 3, the Ohio State Fairgrounds is busy with the setup of the agriscience fair, proficiency competitions, and career development events for the 84th Ohio FFA State Convention. Along with these contests, there is another activity in which blue jacket wearing members are participating. The Ohio Small Grains Marketing Program (OSGMP), an organization, which works to improve wheat production and other small grains in the state of Ohio, sponsored the “Food for Thought” program.

This year, eight teams participated in the competition which gives FFA chapters $500 dollars to fund activities and programs to educate the public on the benefits of small grains. The contest was judged by a panel of 5 judges from the Ohio Corn Marketing Program and a Chef from the “Chefs Move to Schools” program. Students at the convention voted by texting Teams created programs and then made a presentation to a panel of judges hoping to win the grand prize of a grant in the amount of $2,000.… Continue reading

Read More »

Benjamin Logan FFA holds blood drive

By Katelyne Ackley, chapter reporter

On April 10, 2012 the Benjamin Logan FFA held their annual blood drive. The blood drive was coordinated by the Healthy Lifestyle Committee. There were numerous students and staff that signed up to give blood, and there were more than 54 units collected. The blood collections went to the American Red Cross.… Continue reading

Read More »

Preble Shawnee FFA receives Bronze Rating

The Preble Shawnee FFA Chapter completed a National Chapter Award Application and received a bronze rating placing 52nd in the entire state of Ohio. The Preble Shawnee FFA Chapter has not completed this application for several years.

The National Chapter Award program recognizes FFA chapters that successfully complete an annual Program of Activities which includes a series of activities designed to encourage its members to grow as individuals, to work as part of a team, and to serve others. In order to qualify for a state or national award, your chapter must complete at least 15 activities: one for each of the five quality standards in each of the three divisions.… Continue reading

Read More »

Meet our student reporters

Joel Penhorwood is a senior at Benjamin Logan High School where he has been involved in the FFA for four years and has served as chapter president for two of those years. In addition to the FFA, Joel is also involved in marching, concert, and jazz bands, cross country, as well as National Honor Society and is currently president of his senior class. Outside of school, Joel is big into showing livestock (including beef steers, market/breeding hogs, and market goats) as he participates in the Logan County Fair and Ohio State Fairs every year. Joel is also the creator and broadcaster/narrowcaster of the LoCo Lingo, an agricultural podcast serving the Logan County, Ohio area. His background also includes work at Four-Henry Holsteins, a mid-sized dairy farm near West Liberty, Ohio. Overall, Joel is a bright spirited guy with a serious passion for agriculture!



Kaitlin Geisz is a senior at Edgewood High School in Trenton, Ohio where she has been a member of the Edgewood/Butler Tech FFA chapter for the past two years.… Continue reading

Read More »

Benjamin Logan FFA finishing strong at State Level

By Katelyne Ackley, chapter reporter

Benjamin Logan FFA Cooperative Education and Animal Behavior teams competed at the state level. The Cooperative Education team placed seventh overall with Kathleen Seeley placing eighth. Members that participated on the team were: Brent Weiss, Jasmine Wical, Chelsea Shaffer, JD Harvey, Josh Vinson, and Jessie Dodson.

The Animal Behavior team placed sixth overall with Ashley Wilson placing eighth. Members that participated on the team were: Chelsea Shaffer, Taylor McNamara, and Gwen Reaver.… Continue reading

Read More »

140 FFA Chapters Receive FFA: Food For All Grants

Nationwide Program Provides Funding for Service-Learning Projects to Fight Hunger

The National FFA Organization awarded $330,000 in grant money for the FFA: Food For All program. The program provides funding to support year-long service-learning projects focused on developing and implementing sustainable hunger programs. Service-learning is a method of teaching and learning that challenges students to identify, research, develop, and implement solutions to identified needs in their school or community as part of their curriculum.

The FFA: Food For All program provided up to $2,500 to 140 chapters in 41 states to assist local chapters with their programs. All of the projects will rely on FFA members for implementation. In addition to providing food for local residents in need, FFA members will provide helpful information regarding the care, preparation and preservation of food.

FFA: Food For All Grants are sponsored by Farmers Feeding the World and the Howard G. Buffett Foundation as a special project of the National FFA Foundation.… Continue reading

Read More »